The Cliffs of Moher

30 Oct

After spending a day on Inishmore marveling at the cliffs at Dun Aengus, I had no idea how big the Cliffs of Moher were going to be. A long three-hour bus ride from Galway left me tired, hungry, and for the most part uninterested in looking at the Cliffs. After a quick lunch, and my motivation restored, four of us embarked to one of the scariest walks of my life. Generally, I do pretty well with heights, but as I scaled the thin, dirt path along the cliffs, it really sunk in how close I was teetering on the line of life and death.

As I walked further to the right of O’Briens tower, the Branaunmore Sea Stack stood out of the water, a beautiful spectacle. I was equally impressed and confused as to how such a structure could have formed. Further down the trail, there was a flat cliff of rock that people were gravitating towards. There, the drop was dramatic, a 700-foot drop, nearly straight down to the shale beach below. It was there, where I braved my newly discovered fear of heights, and laid down just close enough to the edge where I was able to stick my eyes over. As I looked over, my depth perception was off; being so high up it was hard to determine how big everything was down below. After about ten or so minutes of laying on the edge marveling at the beauty, an older gentleman walked close to us with a rock in hand, and threw it over the edge. The rock was small enough that on the way down, we lost sight of it, until seconds later the sound of it hitting the rocks below echoed up the sides of the cliffs. The time between when the rock was thrown, and when it hit the ground below really made the scale of the fall sink in.

The 700-foot high Cliffs of Moher stand as evidence of 300,000 years of nature’s power, an overwhelmingly beautiful, natural wonder. Visiting the cliffs has been the highlight of my time in Ireland so far.IMG_5144IMG_5152

-Brendan Slattery

Leave a Reply

