Vistas of the Cliffs of Moher

29 Oct

“I hope that was a good sandwich.” – Maeve O’Sullivan, 2015

We were all hungry by the time we arrived at the Cliffs of Moher. People were exhausted as well after hours on the bus. And many were not sure if the Cliffs of Moher could top our trip to Inishmore.

To this end, a couple of us went to the nearest café for some sustenance. Our stay at the café was extended when a friend spent more time than usual frantically searching for a vegetarian sandwich. When we got out, we saw flocks of other N.U.In kids heading our way and saying “Oh you missed the group picture.”

Nonchalantly Maeve said “I hope that was a good sandwich” as Hridayam ravenously consumed her sandwich. In short we were a bit annoyed that we missed the group picture. When we reached the edge of the cliff, we were quite literally, shocked. We were exposed to an endless view of blue and a strong gale of wind brushed on our faces. We savored the crisp weather, as we walked along the cliffs. It was then a battle of smartphones as the three of us frantically tried to outdo each other with pictures, we wanted to capture the view not just for the views on our Instagram or snapchat, but to keep a memory of an incredible experience alive.

I had lost track of my friends when I realized I wandered off the beaten path. The railings that kept visitors safe was no longer in sight. But the feeling of being on the edge of a cliff and walking along it was just a feeling I had to explore. The view was even more spectacular with no railing to hold me back. I lost myself in thought as I looked upon the clear blue skies, meeting the embrace of warm blue sea. The view was so serene that I started to reflect on my time here in Ireland. Like the view, my experience here is something that I will never forget.

I can also see how the Irish people formulated the legends associated with the Cliffs of Moher. Such as the legend of the Lost City of Kilstiffen, a city lost to the seas when a chieftain lost the key to it in a great battle. This symbolizes the limitless nature of Irish imagination, as from the cliffs one could see to the unknown. The rocks below the cliffs are also incorporated in legend, the Mermaid of Moher. It was so serene of a place that it is thought that the spiritual veil was thin enough that a mermaid was sighted. She was so captivated by the view, she took the chance to visit the mortal world by marrying a fisherman. If even a mermaid can fall in love with physical Ireland, then I daresay so can I.IMG_4167 IMG_4170

 

Joshua Harsono

 

Leave a Reply

