On the Edge of the World

31 Jan

When I first told people I would be studying in Ireland, the first thing they asked was why. To them, Ireland didn’t hold any significance other than St. Patrick’s day or Guinness. In response, I simply told them to wait and see. It was only when I posted pictures of our trip to Galway that I had a flood of “Now I understand why you wanted to go” and “I never knew it was that beautiful.” The trip to Galway only solidified my love of Ireland and my decision to study here for the semester, more specifically the Cliffs of Moher. It was one of many things on my “Place to Visit in Ireland” list so naturally I was looking forward to it. Being told they were the Cliffs of Insanity from The Princess Bride and the setting of one of my favorite moments from Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince made me look forward to it even more.

While the weather was not the best and at times made walking a simple incline seem like climbing the steepest of mountains, it was worth every step. Unlike other tourist attractions, where you hear nothing but the chatter of other people and the sounds of cameras, I heard the crashing of the waves, the strong winds and the various birds flying overhead. It was both terrifying and beautiful which I think made me love it more. It made me appreciate the natural untouched beauty of Ireland which can’t be tamed by man.

It was easy to see why so many movies had been filmed there, because the Cliffs have something that can’t be made with a computer or re-created on a set. The Cliffs embody the essence of Ireland itself: forever constant in a world of change, naturally and breathtakingly beautiful.

-Crystal Thomison

Leave a Reply

