Galway

31 Jan

Last weekend was incredible. Galway was such a gorgeous and quaint little town. It was really nice to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The first day we just sat in a local pub and drank Irish coffee and got to know one another. We walked around a little bit to see some of the town, but didn’t spend a ton of time looking for the character and history of the city itself. The second night we went to a pub and listened to live music, which was one of my favorite things.

The places we visited were so magical, to say the least. The Dun Aengus Fort on the Aran Island was so spectacular. It’s rich history and views were unforgettable. The ferry ride was a bit of a struggle, but the pictures really made up for the nausea. The Cliffs of Moher was a place I had been dying to visit since I decided I wanted to study abroad in Ireland. I couldn’t get over how windy and cold it was, but it actually was kind of what I was expecting in the first place. Everyone thinks of Ireland as rainy anyways, so it was fitting that the weather wasn’t fabulous. The cliffs were breathtaking and the fact that they were in The Princess Bride made me want to watch the movie again. I loved walking through the museum and watching the video of all of the animals that rely on the cliffs for shelter.

I am really glad I was able to visit this part of Ireland and see what beauty is on the West coast.

-Emily Jones

Leave a Reply

