I May of Gotten The Gift of the Gab

28 Nov

A few weeks ago, I got the pleasure of spending the weekend with my parents. (I’m sincere, I promise!) Visiting me was the first time either of them had been in Ireland, well Europe for that matter, and I was determined to show them a good time. I must have spent an hour at least bothering the two of them about where they would like to go or what they would like to see and each time they replied, “I don’t care, we’re here to see you!” So, I settled it for them. The next morning it was off to Cork to see the infamous Blarney Stone. After taking the train to Cork, something we’d never done together, we managed to get ourselves out to the quaint little town of Blarney. If there ever was a village to fit the Irish stereotype, it was Blarney. It’s a gorgeous little town filled with family owned shops and pubs and beautiful, lush green grass. After walking through the town a bit, we finally headed into the castle grounds to see what all the fuss was about.

Blarney Castle took my breath away. The castle grounds were just gorgeous with flowers, bushes, and trees of magnificent colors and shapes. The grass was a beautiful vibrant green, perfectly manicured. There was even a rushing stream through the path with water so clear you could see each individual stone that made up the bed. Not to mention the lovely castle that sprung up magnificently from the landscape. I knew in an instant that it was the perfect place to bring my parents, Blarney encompassed all the magic and beauty I have experienced thus far in Ireland. As we walked up to the castle, I could see my parents taking it all in, surely amazed at the sights. We climbed the to the top of the castle, clambering up the narrow staircase, which is something my dad still loves to talk about. When we got to the top, we found even better views of the sounds along with a little old man sitting next to a black mat laid on the floor of the roof of the castle. Low and behold, to kiss the Blarney Stone, we had to sit on that mat and, with the help of that old man, bend backwards over the side of the castle low enough to kiss the lowest stone on the outer facade. What’s even crazier is that I got both of my relatively unadventurous parents to kiss the stone, not that either of them need the gift of the gab… After our adventure at the castle, we spent what seemed like years in the wool market, as my mom likes to shop about as much as she likes to talk, and got some fish and chips at a local pub. Before we knew it, the whole day was behind us.

I never would have thought my two, quite average American parents would find their way to Blarney Castle in the wonderful island of Ireland, but I am sure happy they did. As I continue to travel around Ireland, I continue to revel in it’s beauty. Though it reminds me a lot of home, the Green Mountain State of Vermont, there is something bit more beautiful about a foreign land. It almost seems whimsical, like I’m on the verge of discovering something magical that only exists on the Emerald Isle. I’ve learned a lot about the truth of Ireland, disregarding all the stereotypes I was brought up with before I came to live here, but there may be some truth behind the whimsical air that seems to attach itself to everything associated with the country. I can’t help but feel it every time I visit the countryside…

Leave a Reply

