Blarney Shenanigans – Carly Hicks

26 Nov

Last weekend, I was fortunate enough to visit the Blarney Castle in county Cork. The weather was beautiful that day. The autumn colors were in full swing and air was brisk and comfortable. We left in the early hours of the morning and arrive at the castle around noon. When we arrived, I bounded off the bus and proceeded to the Blarney Castle with intentions to kiss the Blarney Stone. On the way to the stone, I walked by beautifully colored trees and across a bridge with a babbling brook flowing underneath it. I then reached the castle and started my ascent of the castle. I am partially claustrophobic so the stairs were slightly terrifying but I made it. Once at the top, I had a beautiful view of the Blarney property and it was breathtaking. Before I knew it, it was my turn to kiss the stone. I proceeded to lay on my back and bend over backwards over the edge of the castle. With only my arm strength on two rods to hold and the strength of an old man keeping me from sliding off the edge of the castle, I kissed the Blarney Stone. I try not to think of how gross it is but rather the “gift” I will get from kissing the stone. The legend says that if you kiss the Blarney Stone, you will get the gift of the gab. Let’s hope I get it. After kissing the stone, some friends and I wandered around the Blarney property and enjoyed the beautiful autumn day. It sort of reminded me of early autumn days in my hometown which made me nostalgic and happy to reminisce in my favorite time of the year. The Blarney Castle is beautiful and I will definitely remember my time there.

Leave a Reply

