Family in Cork

17 Oct

This is Michael Murphy

dbsirishstudies

My first two weeks in Dublin were an absolute blast. Meeting people from all over the world and partying every night, but it quickly grew old and it was time for me to trek down to Cork to visit my Irish relatives.

My relatives are never easy to understand as they have the fast talking Cork accent, you would think my Uncle Tadgh has a sock in his mouth, but in only I few hours I was able to pick it up. They took me out sailing, golfing, and I even enjoyed a pint of Murphy’s Irish Stout, but the real amusement was the history I learned and connections I made about my family.

I learned that Murphy is a Cork name and my ancestors were settled in Cork. I walked around my great uncles house and stared at the pictures on the wall. Pictures of family gatherings where I…

View original post 165 more words

Leave a Reply

