Trip to the Aran Islands

2 Oct

This past weekend we ventured out to the quaint town of Galway. After visiting the Cliffs of Moher on our first day, I didn’t think the view could get much better; I was wrong. On our second day in Galway, we took a ferry to the Aran Island where I was blown away by the island’s rocky magnificence. The whole foundation of the island is made up of rocks that hold thousands of years of history and stories. After a short hike up to the top of the cliffs I reached a breathtakingly terrifying view of clover-covered fields, beach and dramatic waves crashing against the rocks at the bottom. Being up so high really put thing in perspective. Gazing down reminded me how small and almost insignificant we really are. Being 300 ft above sea level with a birds-eye view of the Aran Islands created a sense of euphoria accompanied by a jolt of adrenaline. It also reminded me how quickly something can change. Watching the waves repeatedly crash against the shore, showed me how powerful and unpredictable nature is.

Growing up in Manhattan has exposed me to amazing views but never anything as raw and natural as these cliffs. Moreover, I have never been exposed to such beautiful and pure nature; the cliffs gave a 360 view of the island, allowing me to see differing scenic views. The island was also scattered with Celtic Churches and many other artifacts filled with rich history allowing for an educational experience. The Aran Islands were also the first place I heard Irish being spoken outside of a classroom or guided tour. After hearing and seeing everything the Aran Islands had to offer, I left feeling more acculturated and in touch with Ireland as a whole. Although Dublin has exposed me to Irish culture, the trip to the west forced me to deepen my knowledge and understanding of Ireland.

 

-Dayna Fields

Leave a Reply

