One Inch Away From Death

2 Oct

After the first 3 hectic weeks in Dublin, we finally take the weekend off to visit the Cliffs of Moher, near Galway. We took an early morning three hours bus to Galway from Dublin, and during the bus ride I finally got to see the greenery and nature of Ireland. The scenery on the way to Galway was breathtaking, as there were just acres of plain green fields. The three hours went by so quickly, and in moments we in the “Little Boston” of Ireland. The day went quickly and soon nightfall hit, and I did not know that the very next day, I was going to experience one of the most memorable days of my life.

We were visiting the Cliffs of Moher, at first I was unenthusiastic as I thought it would be like any normal cliff. But once I reached the cliff, I saw one of the most beautiful views I have ever seen in my life. I went to the extreme edge of the cliff and sat down, and the feelings that were rushing in my body felt divine. I just let my legs hang over the edge, and that’s when I realized that if I move even an inch forward, death awaits me, where the sea crashes against the big boulders and rocks under the cliff. The aqua blue water crashed against the brown rocks, which aesthetically was one of the most beautiful pictures I still have in my mind. The moment I looked down at the sea, I felt nostalgia creep up where my favorite moments my life flashed before my eyes, like a movie. The Cliffs of Moher blew my mind, and gave me an idea of all the different places in the world that could be as beautiful as this. It left me with one of my most treasured experiences, and no picture could capture the beauty I experienced by the cliffs.

-Viraj Shah

Leave a Reply

