Study Tour to the West

1 Oct

When I was accepted into the NU.in program in Dublin, I didn’t know what to expect. Naturally, I was a little nervous about living in a country so far from my family and friends for such a long amount of time. When I attended the Pre-Departure Orientation in Boston, I was still unconvinced about how awesome Ireland was going to be. All my uncertainty was disbanded this weekend in the west.

When I was preparing myself to come to Ireland I watched a few Digital Storytelling Projects so I would know what to expect. Every single video talked about going to the Cliffs of Moher and I simply wondered what’s so great about some cliffs? I can now confirm the Cliffs were unbelievable. However something the previous NU.in Ireland students left out was how remarkable the Aillwee Cave was. I simply can’t imagine being Jack McGann, first exploring into a dark cave that was once the den for bears during hibernation and later keeping the caves’ existence a secret for approximately 30 years. If I knew the existence of this cave I would want to tell everyone about it! My favorite part of the cave was the unique texture of each wall and how it was formed by the current of a once existent stream. I was also blown away by the waterfall inside the cave and just the beauty of nature.

After we left the caves I didn’t think I could see anything more jaw-dropping, until I climbed the cliff. At first I was very hesitant to climb on the edge of the cliff for fear of falling to my untimely death but once I climbed over onto the other side of the safety zone, I didn’t want to leave the edge.

I can truly say that the Cliffs of Moher confirmed everything to me, in the moment I stood up there and contemplated my life (all that I have done and all that needs to be accomplished) I knew I was right where I was meant to be. The Cliffs of Moher helped me realize that had I decided to go to any other university out of fear of leaving my mom and everyone at home that I would have missed out on educational opportunities like this that Northeastern and travelling abroad provide.

-Tori Sullivan

Leave a Reply

