Cliffs of Moher

29 Sep

This past weekend, we took a trip to Galway, a small city in the west of Ireland. I didn’t know much about the city of Galway before the trip, the only thing I knew for sure was that it took 3 hours to get there from Dublin, which amazed me. Where I live, it takes 3 hours to get from one side of Long Island to the other. It made me remember how small the country of Ireland is. We spent two full days in Galway and our days were packed with excursions such as visiting the Ailwee Caves, walking along the Cliffs of Moher, and visiting the Aran Islands. My favorite excursion by far was visiting the Cliffs of Moher.

While on our outing to the Cliffs of Moher, I was blown away by the beautiful landscape and breathtaking views. I had one of those humbling moments. You know those moments when you’re dangling your feet over 400 foot cliffs and you realize how small you are to the world in comparison. The natural cliffs blew me away, and no picture that I took could ever capture the actual beauty I witnessed on Saturday.

I asked an employee at the gift shop if there was a set date to how old the cliffs were and she told me they date back to 320 million years ago. I was dumbfounded, it amazed me that this magnificent landscape was here millions of years ago, and here I am walking on them in this moment. It reminds you how strong nature is, and how it can’t just be knocked down or transformed easily like the buildings I see in the city every day.

Overall, visiting the Cliffs of Moher was an unforgettable experience. It was by far my favorite excursion I’ve gone on since I’ve gotten to Ireland, and I cant see what other wonders Ireland has to offer.

-Hannah Gross

Leave a Reply

