Trip to Western Ireland

16 Apr

One the weekend of March 7th, we took a wonderful trip up to western Ireland. We all got up early in the morning on Friday and got on the bus to make our way up to Galway. We didn’t arrive in Galway until late that night. We enjoyed a wonderful dinner and evening in Galway. Early the next morning, we got up early and it was time to take a boat ride to the largest of the Aran Islands, Ennismore. The boat ride was definitely memorable. I don’t think I have ever been on a rockery boat ride in my life. I have been on many boats in my life and I have never been sea sick in my life but even I wasn’t feeling a bit peaky on the ride over. I just listened to my music and cleared my mind.

Once we arrived, we got into cars and took a quick tour of the island. Including the cemetery of the seven churches. After the tour, we got out of the cars and started to make our way up to the cliff. Once again Ireland’s beautiful scenery never fails to amaze me. It was just incredible looking out over the cliff onto the long open ocean. After some pictures were taken we headed back down and then it was time to get some lunch. After we headed to a shop that sold typical Irish knit sweaters and other hand knit products. They all looked so comfortable. I was very tempted to buy one. When we got back to Galway we went back to the hotel and got some rest before dinner and another enjoyable evening in Galway.

Sunday, we got up early again and we headed to the Cliffs of Moher. This was the part of the tour I had been looking forward to the most. The Cliffs of Moher is one of the most popular visitor attractions in Ireland and one of the most famous cliffs in the world. They have been featured in several movies including the sixth harry potter movie. When we first walked up to the cliffs it was very foggy and had begun to rain which made it hard to see the cliffs. I was very disappointed considering how much I was looking forward to this. Fortunately, as we continued down the cliffs it cleared up so we were able to get some good views of the cliffs. The cliffs have been my favourite part of Ireland so far.

Leave a Reply

