Off to the Guinness Factory

10 Dec

On Sunday Decemeber 8th, I finally went to the Guinness Storehouse. I wasn’t sure what to expect as I thought it would be boring because most tours are but to my astonishment I had really enjoyed myself. The tour was very interactive and allowed theme and my friends to go by ourselves to explore. For me, the tour gave off of a “Willy Wonka” vibe as I felt the storehouse was an adult version of a chocolate factory. There was small things that reminded me of the movie such as the waterfall that is on display as it sparked the memory of the chocolate waterfall that was in “Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory” and the tasting room that was on the 4th floor reminded me of the tasting room in the movie as it also had bright white walls. The Storehouse from 1902 to 1988 was a fermentation plant but in 1997, it was converted into the Guinness Storehouse. It was no longer the Hop Sotre but instead was the visiting center.  The Storehouse is made up of seven floors. On the ground floor the ingredients for Guinness are introduced (water, barley, hops and yeast) and a brief history on the founder, Arthur Guinness. On the other floors there was a history on advertisement, shipping and an interactive exhibit on how to correctly drink Guinness, to pour one and on how to drink responsibly. The gravity bar was located on the seventh floor and it gave a 360-degree view over Dublin. My favorite part of the tour was the Guinness Academy, in which I learned how to pour a proper pint. I thought pouring beer on tap would be an easy task but I had learned that for Guinness the pint needed to be at a 45-degree angle and that it needed to settle for a bit before being topped off. The reason it needs to settle is because the nitrogen that is in Guinness is rising and that is why the color changes from chocolate brown to almost black. Guinness is not only used as a beverage but it is also used with food, such as Guinness stew. I am not a big fan of Guinness as I don’t like the creamy texture but after touring and learning more about the beer I understand why Guinness is considered one of the most successful beer brands worldwide. 

-Aaron Lee

Leave a Reply

