Sligo

8 Dec

A few weeks ago I had the pleasure of going out west to Sligo. It was my favorite trip in Ireland so far. We stayed at an eco lodge and spent the weekend with out technology. The drive was a quick three and hours, (I love that everything in Ireland is so close! When I visit my cousins in a few states away from me it takes bout 6 hours to get there!) Anyways the bus ride was quick and right when we got there I knew that I was going to love it. The first night we watched a movie as a group and went to bed early.

The next morning we woke up at 9 and were out of the house by about 11. We hiked up a gorgeous mountain called Knocknarea Mountain. At the top of the mountain was a huge mount of small rocks. The pile of rocks is known as Medb’s (Maeve’s) Cairn. It is believed that the Celtic queen Maeve is buried under the pile of rocks.

After our hike, we went surfing and when I say surf I mean I basically was pumbled by waves in 3 min intervals. We were in Sligo during a huge storm. The waves were huge and the undertow was very strong. The men who took us out surfing said that they would have canceled if we didn’t come all the way from Dublin. Although I never actually stood up on my board, I enjoyed learning to surf.

After a day out freezing in the water, we went back to the eco lodge and ate dinner and then were visited by a very peculiar lady… A druid. She caused a scene when she came into the house. She screamed at all of us for not letting her into the house and to quote her “In this country we greet people at the door and don’t wait for them to fall on their ankles.” She then told us many stories of the dead and that she used to be science teacher at a school, which was cool, I never thought a druid would be a schoolteacher.

Along with the druid’s, should I say “performance”, was an amazing performance by 3 young Irish girls. They played Irish fold music, reels, and jigs and sang songs while we all watched by the fire.

Over all it was one of the best weekends I have had in Ireland yet.

 

 

Leave a Reply

