Dublin Adventures

5 Dec

As this is my last post, I thought it would be appropriate to talk about the life I have lived in Dublin for the past four months. Although there are many things different about Dublin than in America, it was easy to feel at home because of how welcoming and endearing everyone in Ireland truly is, and that is because of their culture. 

We spent our first night in Mulligan’s which was a great place to be. The service was great and the food was fantastic. Later we found out that the cast of Game of Thrones typically hangs out there when they’re shooting near Dublin, and accordingly we waited on news regarding their current shooting locations. As this went on, we continued exploring and slowly became more exposed to Dublin’s pub life and nighttime culture.

Music has always has a very prominent role in my life and with the Dublin derived group The Script in town, some of us were determined to meet the guys who influenced a lot of our independent music aspirations. Due to some avid twitter following, we were able to find the hotel they were staying at. We only were forced to wait outside for at most 20 minutes before they walked outside and greeted us warmly. Danny O’Donoghue was more than welcome to the idea of taking pictures with us. It was definitely an experience I’ll never forget.

The things that were most difficult to get accustomed to were remembering to turn on the immersion before a shower, remembering that the food in Europe does not contain unhealthy preservatives, and also remembering that it rains in Dublin. A lot. But like anything, I have become accustomed to this lifestyle and it’ll definitely be difficult reverting back to the “American” way of life. I honestly do not think I miss home nearly as much as I am going to miss Dublin. 

The thing I value you the most about Dublin, I think, is the street life. There are artists that fill the sidewalks and people that are longing for ways to express themselves on the streets of Dublin every single day, and I find that quite beautiful. There are sculptors and musicians and people that find joy through art and that is something that I admire greatly. What I do love most about the Irish culture is how much everyone values art and self-expression.

I will truly miss Dublin and I have very fond memories for this trip that will last a life time. This city has truly made an impact on me, as has the Irish culture in general, and it is something that I will forever cherish as I continue with my future. I have made friendships that have the potential to last a lifetime, and I am so thankful for this great opportunity that i have been given. I have had the opportunity to travel Ireland and see the beauty that the people and landscape simultaneously contain. 

 

Leave a Reply

