Ring of Kerry

4 Dec

This past weekend, Carli, Ebby and I went to the Ring of Kerry. Now, I am not sure what exactly I was expecting when going into this tour, but I came out learning a lot about the history of Ireland as a whole and some important people as well. We started our tour in Killarney and worked our way through Adare, Killorglin, Waterville and Sneem, just to name a few. Each place had a beautiful view of the Atlantic Ocean, Dingle Bay or the MacGillycuddy Reeks. It was really interesting to travel throughout a part of Ireland that I had never been before and learn a lot about the history. One cool thing about Waterville is that there is a statue of Charlie Chaplan located there. I did not even know he was famous in Ireland, so that was fun to learn about.

 

We learned that Adare is named the cutest town in Ireland, and that it is known for the thatched roofs over the houses and they still try to preserve them. I thought that was a really interesting fact and even though we were only there for like thirty seconds, I was able to automatically tell that it was an adorable town, and I would love to go back there in the future.

Another thing that I thought was really cool was that we got to see a house from the potato famine ages. I am not sure exactly where it was because we only saw it in passing, but the house was literally the size of our kitchen now and made purely of stone. I could not imagine having a huge family only in that one little room basically. Also, it did not have any heating or anything so in the winter; they would freeze since the house was made purely of stone.

One of my favorite parts of the tour is when we drove by Daniel O’Connell’s house right outside of Waterville. It was pretty rundown (obviously) and hard to see, but the fact that he lived there was enough to make it really cool. Also, right outside of his house, was a park with a bust of O’Connell. He is obviously an iconic figure, considered he has a spire and street dedicated to him. O’Connell was an advocator for Catholic Emancipation and for political, peaceful protests.

Leave a Reply

