Saint Patrick’s Cathedral (Avery Cok)

1 Dec

When I went to Saint Patrick’s Cathedral, I got the opportunity to go there on two different occasions. As I proceeded to go walk on the grounds for the first time, there was a graduation going on. Unfortunately, that caused the whole church to be closed for the remainder of the day. For that day, I was only able to venture the outside; nonetheless, it was a wonderful experience in which I had the chance to admire the external beauty and the nuanced architecture of the cathedral. In addition, the gardens surrounding the cathedral is so extravagantly placed and it’s surprising for being right in the city. Consequently, I voyaged through the luscious green that the courtyard of the cathedral has to offer. With regards to the graduation, I was personally surprised that they were doing that kind of celebration in such an iconic place. 

With concern to the cathedral itself, the interior is not as extravagant as one would think. I expected a grandiose archway with a prominent clerestory (I believe that there is a clerestory, but it doesn’t let in enough light as I would have expected) on the third level. However, it has this small and homey feel to it. While inside, there was a choir recital going on, which was interesting to watch. It was soothing and it felt great to be in such an open atmosphere. There was also an area where people could do devotions and light a candle, which would be followed by a prayer and a subsequent kneel at the altar. I was so enticed by the sculptures and dedicatory artwork that was in the cathedral because my previous studies led me to analyze those certain pieces of artwork before. In specific, The Dean of St. Patrick’s, Thomas Jones, has a memorial dedicated to him that portrays attendants kneeling beside his deceased body. File:St. Patrick's Jones memorial.jpg

The work has many religious symbols integrated into itself and it displays the prevalence of iconography for its time. As I was staring at the architecture, I would point out all the architectural terminology that I knew of. It subsequently felt gratifying that my art history education has not gone to waste. In addition, I saw a door that was axed down through the middle and learned that there was a treaty that was made through halving the door. The door is known as The Door of Reconciliation in which the earls of Ormond and Kildare shook hands through the hole. In essence, one of the earls gave a promise to the other and the one of them did not believe the other. This caused one to axe through the middle, which consequently made the other believe the other since the one who used to axe went through all that work. That specific negotiation led to the creation of a phrase that I have never heard of in my life, but it might be common in Irish culture. I also enjoyed fake playing on the organ that is housed in the inside, which plays through 4000 pipes. This makes it one of the largest organs in Ireland. In sum, I had a great time looking at the beauty and magnificence of both the artwork and the cathedral itself. The beauty of the area surrounding the cathedral didn’t hurt either. File:Doorreconciliation.jpg

-Avery Cok

Leave a Reply

