Guinness Storehouse with my Parents

19 Nov

On the last day that my parents were in Dublin, we decided to be uber tourists/ pseudo Irish people and spend the morning at the Guinness Storehouse. I met them there around 11:30 in the morning and we immediately embarked on our Guinness journey. My parents and I decided that we would tour two floors, go upstairs and eat lunch, and then come back down to the second floor to continue our adventure. The first floor consisted of how to make the lovely drink, along with different stories about Arthur Guinness and how he came to own the storehouse. I learned that he took a leap of faith and signed a 9,000 year lease for the factory. He must have had an extreme amount of confidence in his beer and knew that it was going to be a huge success, not only in Ireland, but throughout the entire world. I’m sure every Irish man and woman is grateful that he took this leap of faith! Guinness is huge cultural staple here in Dublin.

At the Storehouse, I also learned how the drink is made. As all beers have the same ingredients, barely, hops, Guinness yeast, and water. The difference between Guinness and other beers is how the malted barely is roasted. This is what gives the Guinness its ruby-red color. Additionally, they follow a nine-step process to create the drink and that process is described to you during your visit. The first step is finding all of the ingredients, next is milling, then mashing, followed by separating, and then is boiling, fermentation, maturation, and then finally is packaging and enjoying. The factory is very interactive while teaching you this process. The interior design of the Storehouse is something that really stuck out to me. I thought it was very creative and intriguing that it was shaped like a pint glass. It added to the atmosphere and ambiance on the first and second floor where we learned about the drink and how it was made because it made the visitor feel like he or she is a part of the brewing process.

As my parents and I passed through the factory, I came to the conclusion that even though this was an extremely touristy thing for us to do, I am so thankful that I was able to spend this quality time with my parents before they left Dublin and embarked on their voyage back to New York. It was a great Irish culture bonding experience for us.

Overall, I have two favorite parts of the tour. The first one is the tasting room. Not just because we got a small pint, but because the staff taught my parents and I how to drink Guinness in a way which we were able to taste all the flavors. It gave me an even larger appreciation for the drink. At that moment, I truly felt like a Dubliner. My second favorite part was the lookout on the seventh floor. Luckily, we were there on a very clear and sunny day, so we were able to see out over all of Dublin. Due to the things I’ve learned about in Irish Life and Culture and due to my own personal experiences in Dublin, I was able to spot some landmarks and point them out to my parents. I spotted Trinity College, Croke Park, and Phoenix Park, just to name a few. I cannot wait to go back to the Guinness Storehouse again when my best friend from home comes to visit next week. I know she will be able to appreciate the experience just as much as I did. Also, I am eager to visit the Jameson Distillery so I can mentally compare and contrast the differences between how to make beer versus how to make whiskey; I’ll return home to America with newfound knowledge and a better insight to Irish culture than most people my age.

Leave a Reply

