The Wild West of Ireland!

18 Nov

Earlier this semester we took a trip to the West of Ireland.  During our time there we went to Galway, the Aran Islands and County Claire.   I would say that my favorite part of this trip, aside from getting to know all the great abroaders, was when we went to Dún Aengus on Inishmor (the largest of the Aran Islands).  I am personally very timid when it comes to heights.  However, the extraordinary scenery and my seemingly fearless peers was enough to convince me to inch closer and closer to the edge.

inishmor

The time we spent in Galway was just a glimpse of a captivating, yet fading Irish culture.  The people of Galway were both proud and welcoming to tourists. At large, music was what fascinated me most in Galway.  Music is a big part of my life and the music scene there, folk and pop was great!  After leaving I had looked up the college of Colaiste Lurgan, which Donal had mentioned and was blown away by multiple of their Irish performances of new popular songs (i.e. When I’m gone and Wake Me Up).  I plan to go back and get a much fuller experience in the future.

So on Sunday before heading back to Dublin we made a trip down to the Cliffs of Mohr in County Claire.  Most the time there it was very foggy with little visibility.  With about 15 minutes to get back on the bus after an uneventful stroll around the cliffs, there were a brief, couple of minutes where the fog cleared.  Those couple minutes were enough to make my day (and my new facebook cover photo).  I am not a huge Harry Potter fan, but I guess that rock was pretty cool too.  The West of Ireland is a place that I will be acquainted with once again.

Leave a Reply

