Northern Ireland

29 Oct

Our trip to Northern Ireland was very informative.  I enjoyed hearing the Loyalist vs. the Unionist point of views.  The murals were interesting and I learned a lot but this trip was definitely different compared to the Galway one.  I am a big fan of the views Ireland has to offer.  So my favorite part of this trip was definitely Carrick-a-Rede.  The rope bridge connects the mainland to the tiny Carrick-A-Rede Island.  Walking across the rope bridge was very suspenseful.   It doesn’t seem sturdy and many people walking across it at the same time made me nervous.  At one point my friend was taking a picture and I was trying to walk around her and I stepped on the rope part of the bridge…For a split second I thought I was going to fall right through.  Not one of the smartest decisions I have made.  The walk out to the Island was fun.  The ocean was the prettiest color blue I had ever seen.  I couldn’t keep my eyes off of it.  After that we went to the Giant’s Causeway.  Not only did this have spectacular views as we walked through the paths but we decided to climb up the rocks as far as we could to get even more insight.  Coming down from the rocks were scary because we were basically sliding down steep cliffs but being at the top was worth the risk of getting down.  I wish we were able to spend a little bit more time at the Giant’s Causeway because we didn’t get a chance to climb to the very top of the highest cliff.

Image

This is Rielly, Shannon and with Carrick-A-Rede in the background. Beautiful view

On our final day in Northern Ireland we went on a walking tour of Derry.  Our tour guide was really nice and she explained so much of the city to us it was hard to keep up with all the political information.  One thing that really stood out to me was the Death of innocence mural.  This was a reminder of the Irish troubles in Northern Ireland.  It’s about a 14 girl named Annette McGavigan that was shot by a British soldier in 1971.  What really affected me was that her father used to go to the mural every day up until he passed last year, just to talk to her.  I think that its one of the more appreciated murals in Derry.

Leave a Reply

