Rugby Game

24 Oct

One of the optional sign-ups I was able to choose was a Rugby game. Back home I loved all types of sports but I knew very little about rugby. So I thought what better of a way to learn it than to go to an actual game. The game that we got tickets to go to was a Heineken Cup game with Leinster (an Irish team) versus Castres (a French team). The news going around town was that Castres was a very good team and was predicted to win against Leinster. However, everyone thought that it was going to be a good, tough fought game and added to my excitement.

When we got to the game, my friends and I managed to get seats 3 rows back from the field in a perfect spot to see everything. It was amazing to see a stadium that size packed with so many people. And they were all so loud supporting the home team that you could barely hear yourself think. However, when either team got a chance to kick a field goal, the stadium got so quiet that you could hear a pin drop, which is amazing as I have never heard a stadium get so loud then so quiet.

The game was a hard fought game and close till the very end keeping everyone interested in the game. The game was nonstop and full of hard hits and some great runs, but the best part was that the end of the game ended up being a win for Leinster, against the odds. The game showed me just how passionate Irish people are about their sports, and how kind they are. I didn’t notice a single bit of heckling of the other team’s fans, which is something prevalent in the US culture. Overall, it was a great day to be outside and the home team won, and I couldn’t have asked for anything more in my first rugby experience.

 

By Greg Shozda

Leave a Reply

