Galway

24 Oct

As our first trip for Irish Life & Cultures class, we traveled all the way across Dublin to Galway. Needless to say I was excited for the trip as I could finally escape the hustle and bustle of Dublin and relax in the green country side of Ireland.

We had arrived at our hostel we would be staying at, called Snoozles. This was the first time I ever stayed in a hostel and it reminded me of all the summer camp trips that I had went on. This short weekend trip felt almost exactly like a summer camp. We made a few trips around the country side and even one to an island called Inishmore.

The first trip that I took was that to the Cliffs of Moher. I was excited to visit this as a few movies had used these as sights in the background to their scenes like Harry Potter and Princess Bride. The views in person did not disappoint, and I even think that they exceeded what I had expected. The sightlines of the huge cliff with a slippery grass edge were breath taking.

The second sight that I went to was an island, Inishmore, in the island group called the Aran Islands. It was mind blowing to know that only about 800 people lived on that island and their only source of money was the tourism industry. We had explored an old fort that was eroding away and sat perilously on the edge of another cliff. On the day that we went, there was a lot of fog adding even more thrill to walking right up to the edge.

On top of experiencing these aspects of Ireland, we learned a few folklore songs such as Fields of Athenry, making this trip one of the best I have had so far during my time here in Ireland.

 

By Greg Shozda

Leave a Reply

