Western Island Getaway

16 Oct

A couple weekends ago we had our first class field trip and my first adventure outside of Dublin City.  The trip was to western Ireland where we visited the Aran Islands and the famed Cliffs of Mohr.

Before this trip I had never heard of the Aran Islands before but as we walked on to the ferry to cross the water to the islands I got excited f

or what was to come. Once we arrived there I was amazed at how beautiful this island was.  It had parts which reminded me exactly of stereo

typical images of Ireland.  But then there were some parts that I didn’t expect to see

in this country at all.  The water had a teal almost Caribbean-like tint that I was not used to seeing except for in tropical places.  The weather was perfect that day,

warm with just a slight sea breeze and I dipped a toe in the water and that was surprisingly warm as well.

The trip to the Aran Islands was absolutely amazing and beyond anything I could have imagined.  The scenery was breathtaking, especially the cliffs, and the weather was the best day we had had yet in Ireland.

The next day we traveled to the Cliffs of Mohr which unfortunately we didn’t really get that good of a look at because of the mist.  However it evened out with how perfect the day before had been.  The fog did blow away for a quick second and you were able to see a slight outline of the cliffs but it came right back again and you weren’t able to really see their incredible beauty.

 

I do hope that one day I can go back there and actually see them on a nice day before I leave Ireland.  The journey to the Aran island, the Cliffs of Mohr and even just exploring and shopping in the city of Galaway all made for an unforgettable weekend in Ireland and a great first trip outside of Dublin.

 

Leave a Reply

