Dublin, an international city!

13 Oct

When I first found out I was going to Dublin I immediately thought of all the Irish people I’d be meeting. But I was thrown for a loop when I saw all the different nationalities that populate this city. I have never been anywhere other than Dubai where I have encountered all kinds of languages, accents and cultures. It’s exciting talking to people from all over the country and getting to know their story. Being half Lebanese it’s even more exciting meeting someone who speaks Arabic and being able to talk to them. I never imagined Dublin to be so international, but that’s what makes it so unique!

Another thing that I love about Dublin is it’s community. When we did our group community service project, it was inspiring seeing how many people volunteered to take something that was a waste and make it something incredible. The volunteers told us that about 1,000 people came out to help and change the lot into a place for all people to come and meet. My favorite part about the Granby Park was the wall with all the graffiti and paintings. Art is a great way for someone to express themselves, and that’s what Granby Park was about. I enjoyed walking around and looking at all the creative working that my fellow peers were doing. We had one group doing a flashmob, a group cutting out stencils and painting over them, and two of my peers were painting the bottom of their feet and walking around. It was a great time had by all! I don’t want that park to be torn down, but it’s going to happen sooner or later.

Leave a Reply

