The Aran Islands – Inis Mór

8 Oct

We spent this past weekend in Western Ireland exploring all of the beautiful sites in Galway, the Aran Islands, and the Cliffs of Moher. While Galway was beautiful and had exquisite shopping, and the Cliffs of Moher would have seemed amazing if it weren’t foggy, the Aran Islands were by far my favorite part of the trip. They were also my favorite place visited thus far on my adventures in Europe. It was about an hour bus ride and an hour ferry ride away from Galway, the time filled with singing of “The Fields of Athenry” (this song has been stuck in my head for days). The Aran Islands were well worth the extra two hours of travel. It was simply breathtaking.

 

We spent our day at the largest of the three Aran Islands, Inis Mór. Inis Mór (meaning big island) is about 7,600 acres and has approximately 1,100 residents. We got around the island by bus, but I saw most others getting around by horse and carriage. I wish I could have done that because it seemed so cool and it was a beautiful day to be outdoors.

 

We spent a lot of time at the cliffs, which was crazy because the wind felt like it could knock us right off. I did get brave and get close to the ledge to snap some pictures, and the view was exquisite!

 

We also visited the Seven Churches. I really appreciated this because we got to see how people honor the dead in this area. The graves were decorated so beautifully that I had to take pictures.
DSC03916
DSC03920
DSC03928

Overall, it was an amazing trip, and I hope to go back again sometime during my visit here!

Source:
http://www.aranisland.info/inis-mor-inishmore/

Leave a Reply

