Waiting for Godot

5 Oct

Last Thursday, my Drama in Contexts class visited the Gaiety Theatre to attend the showing of Waiting for Godot. I have never been to an Irish Theatre before so this was a completely new experience for me. Oddly enough, we spotted two celebrities that night at the Gaiety. Both the President of Ireland came to watch Waiting for Godot as well as Jack Gleeson (Joffrey Baratheon) of Game of Thrones.

The play was quite different from most of the productions I’ve seen in New York City. I’ve mainly watched broadway shows with lively music and dance numbers; Waiting for Godot had a more intimate feel. The play had only one setting and did not change scenes; not surprisingly, it’s known as “a place in which nothing happens twice.”

Even though I found it to be a little boring, I thought the premise was interesting. Two individuals wait for a man named Godot (as the title suggests) however he never seems to come. While they wait, Vladamir and Estragon past the time with comical interactions.

Meaning of Samuel Beckett’s play, Waiting for Godot, isn’t exactly clear however there are many interpretations of what Beckett was trying to convey. Some say Beckett meant to show that there is no meaning to human life except to exist while others say the purpose of our lives is simply an unanswerable question. Whatever Beckett’s true vision of the play was, Waiting for Godot left me asking questions myself of whether Vladamir and Estragon will ever find what they’re looking for or will they just wait for Godot forever.

Overall, I enjoyed my trip to the Gaiety Theatre as I plan to visit this place again to attend one of its many other showings.

IMAG0282

-Claire Jiang

Leave a Reply

