Weekend at Galway

30 Sep

Randall Blake

Last weekend, I had the opportunity to go to one of the most beautiful parts of Ireland and possibly the world, Galway. My first weekend trip took me to the Cliffs of Moher and the Aran Islands and I was rewarded for my travel with some one-of-a-kind views. On the first day, we went to the Cliffs of Moher, and saw a small castle and very large cliffs. When I imagined Ireland before I ever came to this country, this is what I expected. It took three weeks, but I found what I was looking for. 

Image

You could walk for miles and miles and you would still see some of the fantastic scenery these cliffs offer. The best part about these cliffs were that they were relatively unprotected. If these cliffs were in the United States, there would be fences and clear, glass walls blocking people from going anywhere near the edge. In Ireland, on the other hand, there was a small wall and a sign that cautioned people. You were actually able to walk up and feel the true height of the cliffs by dangling your feet off of them. That was the greatest part of the weekend. 
The next day, we went to the Aran Islands and had the opportunity to see the ancient fort and cliffs there. That fort was used 2500 years ago, and we had the opportunity to walk 

Image

around it. We stood on the same ground that, thousands of years ago, people stood on, prayed on, lived on. I love that feeling of history flowing through me. That day, there was a lot of fog and it only added to the ominous feeling of the ancient fort. 

Finally, Galway revealed itself as an exciting city with a lot to offer. The best part was Saturday night, when I got to take part in a “zombie night.” A lot of people dressed up and got their faces painted to look just like zombies. There were about a hundred people that started and people joined on as the night went on. The part I loved most was the fact that all of this was for charity. I’ve seen 5Ks, picnics, talent shows, but Galway showed me a new type of fundraiser that made me much more interested in the cause. 

Galway proved to be a city that was different from Dublin, but had its own beautiful aspects. The beauty offered by the outlying areas and the community-feeling that was offered by the citizens, even though I was only going to be there for the weekend, were parts that made Galway wonderful. This weekend has been something I will never forget. 

Leave a Reply

