My trip to the West (Bridget Sheve)

29 Sep

After hearing that Galway was one place I had to go from many friends back home, I was more than excited to find out that we got the chance to spend the weekend there in just our first month of being in Ireland.  When we got off the two and half hour bus ride, the first thing my friends and I could think of doing was eating.  We quickly checked in at the hostel Snoozles and explored the city of Galway looking for a local restaurant that seemed relatively inexpensive.  What I pictured as an old-fashioned town, based around agriculture and populated mostly by families, Galway was nothing like this at all.   As we walked around we came across many college students and found that Galway was kind of like a smaller version of Dublin.  

The people were very friendly, there were many restaurants open and we also noticed the wide-variety of pubs and night clubs.  We all felt that we had a long two days ahead of us though, so after we grabbed a quick bite to eat, we headed back to Snoozles where I shared a small room with five other girls.  The rooms at the hostel were not nearly as bad as I expected them to be and in comparison to the bathrooms here at Griffith, the showers were significantly bigger.  In addition to this I got to share a room with 5 other girls who I did not normally get to be around.  I liked this aspect very much and the fact that the room was so tiny, only helped me to get to know these girls even better.  

The first full day in the city, my group learned that we got to go to two different places, the Aillwee Cave and the Cliffs of Moher.   We were first taken on a tour through he Aillwee Cave  which was more than 8,000 years old and it amazed me to find out that it was only discovered just less than 70 years ago.  Our next stop, the Cliffs of Moher were probably the most extraordinary things  I have ever seen.  It was a beautiful day out so we quickly ran up the steps to walk a trail all around the cliffs.  We took probably about two/two and a half hours just walking around the cliffs, exploring, and taking a ton of photos. We all had a lot of fun that day and I’m definitely hoping to go back there sometime again.   Image

The next day we went to the Aran Islands.  We took a ferry over which was only about 45 minutes long.  The weather was not nearly as nice as the day before, it was very cloudy out and it even rained a little, but we were still able to enjoy being on the island by taking a tour and walking up to some more cliffs.  We were even taken to a sweater shop where I was able to purchase my first Aran sweater made in Ireland, something that I will be able to keep for a very long time and  remember this trip by. 

My first trip to the West of Ireland was really fun and I got to learn a lot of new and interesting things.  My parents were able to go there today and I cannot wait to hear if they enjoyed Galway just as much as I did.  

Leave a Reply

