Galway Trip.

29 Sep

581188_722605017766469_559517803_n

Last weekend, we had a class trip to Galway, Western Ireland for our Irish Life and Culture class. Though it was a rush to pack and get ready for the trip I was determined to keep an open mind. The trip took about three hours on a bus. I liked the bus ride there because I managed to get some sleep and bond better with my new friends. The bus ride also allowed us a good game of I Spy due to all the scenery we could see outside. This also showed me more of Ireland and its structure.

When we finally arrived in Galway, they put us in rooms with different people not only from Griffith where I stay but from Blackhall as well. I thought that decision was interesting because I personally barely see or know any of them. So, it was good to meet other people and also get to know them.

I realized that first night when we went out to eat that Galway was much smaller than Dublin but then still had everything they needed. I thought that the city was much more practical that way.

The next day, I was up and ready to explore and understand why it was necessary to bring us to Galway. My group’s first tour was to the beautiful Aran Islands. At first I didn’t think much of it but I was quite curious to see why people would ride all the way to catch a ferry to visit the island. We had a typical chilly Irish weather but I think now I have gotten used to it.

The Aran Islands to me was very charming but also full of history. We got on a tour bus that drove us around showed us the sights of Inis Mor. The island had a few seals on the shore, which was amazing in addition to the numerous farm animals that we usually see. The total population was about nine hundred people, which very small compared to the three thousand people that lived there before the famine. The people also actually spoke Irish as well. Some of the many sights I was privileged to see were the Seven churches which is actually just one church built in the 8th century. It was amazing to see that up until now these establishment still exist. It adds up to give Ireland its rich history.

The next attraction was Dun Aengus, which is the most famous pre-historic fort in Ireland. The view of the fort is truly out of this world, especially where you can see the sea touch the sky. I couldn’t venture close to the edge unlike my brave classmates. Behind the cut of edge of the forts are defense walls made by the people who came to Ireland before the people who came before the Celtics. To be around the forts felt like you had been transported through time.

The next day was the visit to the cliffs of Moher and also to see the caves. I was really excited for this one because all my friends from the other groups thought it was really amazing. I thought the caves were really interesting. Especially the formations cause by the water. It was always surprising to hear the man who discovered the caves was only aided by candlelight, considering how dark the caves are. I have also never been into real caves before so this was new.

However, the Cliffs were very disappointing because of the weather. It was really foggy and with my bad eyesight I could barely see anything. It was also a little scary because I sometimes could not be sure if I was standing close to the edge or not.

All in all, the trip to Galway was very memorable. With this experience I cannot wait for our Northern Ireland trip to see another aspect of Ireland.

Akosua Nsiah-Poku.

Leave a Reply

