Galway

29 Sep

Last weekend, we had our first excursion to Galway, Ireland. It was an exciting adventure visiting the amazing sites the west of Ireland had to offer. We first arrived at Snoozles, an interesting experience as I had never stayed at a hostel before, and unpacked our things to get ready to explore city life in Galway. I have to admit I was not so impressed with nightlife there; compared to Dublin, Galway was not as lively. But I nonetheless had a great time visiting the Aran Islands and the Cliffs of Moher.

We were lucky on Friday when we went to the Aran Islands as it was a beautiful day to explore the various sites. After a thirty minute boat ride, we arrived at our destination in a very quiet town, again quite the opposite of Dublin. Our tour guide took us around the area visiting scenic spots to occasionally take pictures and drove us to a ruins site where we learned a little about Irish history. Apparently, it’s a big deal here choosing your burial site before you die. However, my favorite part of the trip was hiking to the top of the island where we were able to have a beautiful yet terrifying view of the Atlantic Ocean. It was intimidating how close we were to the water since there was nothing separating us (like a railing or anything) from the Atlantic. I was eager to take pictures at the edge of the cliff but I could not help shaking every so often as I am slightly afraid of heights.

Unfortunately, we were not as lucky on Saturday when we went to the Cliffs of Moher. It was extremely foggy and misty that day so we were unable to fully see any great views. Nonetheless it was a thrilling experience standing on the cliffs so close to the Atlantic coast.

Although sharing a tiny room with five other girls with one bathroom was a bit inconvenient, I can honestly say I thoroughly enjoyed my trip to Galway. It was quite an adventure walking on the Cliffs of Moher and standing at the top of the Aran Islands. This excursion has allowed me to witness exceptionally beautiful nature that I never thought I would be able to experience and eager for all the upcoming weekend excursions this semester.

-Claire Jiang

554555_718014811547020_517487534_n

Leave a Reply

