The land of my family

27 Mar

This weekend we took a trip to the west of Ireland, we went to one of the place I had been looking forward to going to since the beginning of this trip and that was the Cliffs of Moher. I was looking forward to it for two main reasons. One of the reasons is because it is simply one of the most beautiful places in the world. To be able to stand 700 feet up and look down was something that I was extremely excited to do. The other main reason is that my Grandmother is from County Clare. My ancestors had been living not too far away from where I had been and it was a weird feeling to be there. I am truly an American, I am mostly Irish, but I am also Italian, Dutch and have a little Czech in me as well. So being able to be so close to where my family is from was a weird feeling for me, and it was something that didn’t hit me right away. 

I knew where I was when I got off the bus and what was waiting for me as I walked towards the cliffs, but for some reason it still hadn’t hit me. The path to the left was the one that was mot treacherous, seeing as the guardrail stopped, so naturally I went left. As I peered over the edge of the rail and looked down it was simply breath taking, 700 feet of nothing, a straight drop down. As I walked along the path it started to hit me more and more where I was. I didn’t truly grasp where I was until I was well beyond the end of the barrier and I was standing on a rock formation, just peering over the edge to an endless abyss. It was amazing; there were simply no worlds to describe what I was seeing. Image

 

It finally hit me where I was, when I was standing on that edge, I was somewhere where not many American’s get the chance to be and that is a place of their true heritage. My Grandmother’s surname is Coulter and it is not a typical Irish name, it is actually Scotts Irish. Everyone in my family, on my mother’s side, told me that I had to go to the Cliffs of Moher. My Grandmother brought my Aunt there, when she was a kid, when they were on a trip to visit family in Ireland. I am incredibly proud of where I come from and to be at a place where my ancestors had been and my aunt had been and simply stare over the cliffs gave me chills up and down my spine. It was truly a moment that I will never forget.

Leave a Reply

