C.S. Lewis Lecture

31 Oct

On October 22, I attended a C.S. Lewis Lecture, which is a lecture held annually by the Evangelical Alliance Ireland in honor of C.S. Lewis and his beliefs about Christianity.  This year was the sixth annual year, and it was held in the Chartered Accountants House on Pearse Street in Dublin. The guest lecturer was Os Guinness—the great-great grandson of Arthur Guinness; both of his parents were medical missionaries during World War II. I attended this lecture with my parents not knowing what it was about, but it turned out to be a very stimulating event. There were refreshments before the lecture started, and books were available for purchase. I noticed some students there, probably attending due to requirement. We even met Os Guinness by running into him in the elevator down to the lecture hall, and my dad got his autograph in one of the books when the lecture finished.

To sum up, the lecture was mainly about “Soul Freedom”, which is creating a safe public space for believers in Christianity and nonbelievers.  Os spoke about simply stimulating ongoing public discussion, since the Irish public has moved from being once extremely religious to now majorly secular. As the world becomes more modern, it has also become less religious. He talked about how Europe has resisted the resurgence of religion that has occurred in other countries, such as America. He addressed questions such as: why is freedom of though so important? and how do we live with our deep differences? He also spoke about the problem of Christians fighting for their own rights rather than the rights of others. He also introduced stages for implementing a plan to achieve their goal. One quote that resonated with me was “the right to believe anything doesn’t mean anything we believe is right.”

This lecture particularly resonated with me because I identify as a Christian, and it opened my eyes more to what the ways of life are like currently in Ireland. I was aware that people do not adhere to Catholicism as much, but I realized how much times have truly changed from the past—specifically from Catholicism. Despite the war between Catholics and Protestants, secularism is now the majority; I found that somewhat ironic. Also, this lecture caused me to view the city in a different light; I can better comprehend the change that has occurred and the way that Irish Dubliners are—I have had a hard time understanding the Irish ways of life and this is an aspect that I had not previously considered to help me understand. It has helped me obtain a slightly better grasp on Irish life, and I have found myself slowly realizing that it is these aspects that I had not considered that provide a better understanding of Irish life. 

Image

I didn’t get a chance to take a picture, but this is from the lecture

Leave a Reply

