Museum!

27 Sep

It was the usual Irish stereotype of a rainy day when the NUin group gathered around the Dublin Business School on Aungier Street at 2:45pm in the afternoon. Excitement and exhilaration filled the air as we headed south of Dublin city towards the National Museum of Ireland. I felt ecstatic for I had always had an interest for history and culture. Today I devoted the entire afternoon to immerse myself in the culture that welcomed me ever so beautifully. Walking around the beautifully decorated exhibitions, I was fascinated with many Irish artifacts. The Vikings exhibition, the Spears, and the Celtic crosses all taught me more about the harsh yet fascinating history Ireland went through to become the beautiful, green country it is today. I had the opportunity to learn more about the artifacts there.

Having finished touring the Irish history exhibition, I found myself walking down a narrow stairway that led me to the haven I was yet about to venture into. In the dark room I entered I relived the ancient Egypt way of life. I was able to see the jewels, the artifacts and the precious gold. One of the things at the museum that impressed me the most was a mummified cat. Finding this subject particularly interesting, I decided to research more about it once I got home. In Ancient Egypt civilization, cats were treated with much respect and were put on high pedestals. It all started with the goddess Bast, who was portrayed as a warlike lion but with time became more associated with a domestic cat. To her, cats were sacred and therefore needed to be mummified when dead. They were treated just like humans, therefore if one human killed a cat even if by accident that same person would face death penalty. Now a days, cats aren’t respected as much as they were before. Egyptians perceive some cats especially black, as been bad omens; therefore they have lost that special hierarchy that they once were in.

I was very fascinated with this special artifact of the ancient Egypt civilization that I know for sure that I’ll be visiting Egypt soon and that I will visit the National Museum of Ireland again. I hope that the other NUin students enjoyed this tour as much as I did and will want to visit it again with me.

Leave a Reply

